MAIN MENU

  Village news on the net                  Write to

FREE-ADS
advertise free

Brought to you by
Village Independent Publishers
with financial support from local businesses
PAGE NOT OPENING? VillagePRESS CLICK FOR
ADVERTISER
 
  Where to stay and be cared for -world wide Weather forecast VillagePRESS
health and environment
SHAPENZ
.
SOCIAL
lighter things
VISIT
Rainbow Valley Farm
LIST OF NZ MPs  VillagePRESS
Furniture
Maker
Country phone codes
Baby Store World
Times
Beauty
 Specialist
Currency converter
DICK SMITH
OREWA and

WARKWORTH
"VILLAGE" GROUPS
SHUTTLEBUS Healthy Living
Lifestyle
Surveyors Planners Land Development Consultants REPAIRS  Video  Microwave TV
PUHOI
KENNELS
Rental cars
Garage asset protection
Bio-degradable
paints and oils
HORSE HIRE
Holiday Camps FARMSTAY
WATER PUMPS TV AERIALS
Join  Writers group Garden Revival
FOR YOUR  ADVERT NZ general
info
To
contact us
COFCAL Developments for a Better World Ltd  
   
Philosophy and ethics - who can write and who is responsible  
   
Existential press - what does this mean??  

Tourist accommodation providers beware

Similar email scams have also been experienced in USA...
...as an email from New York to VillagePRESS explains

ROSEWOOD INN owner, Suzanne Sanders of www.rosewoodinn.com  wrote:

   

Dear Editor,
I am writing to you in response to an article posted on your web site. My husband and I own a Bed & Breakfast Inn, located in Corning, New York, USA.  After receiving a e-mail request from a London agency for a lengthy reservation, I wanted to research the legitimacy of the travel agency.

I found your web site and was amazed!  The contents of the correspondence I received is almost exactly the same as the letters that were posted in your article and the warning by Mr. Russell Conder. 

I have attached them below.  I guess it doesn't matter where you are located, the same rule holds true...   If it sounds  "too-good-to-be-true", it usually is! Thank you for making other innkeepers and accommodation providers aware of these scams. I will do my best to alert those on "this side-of-the pond"

A search on Internet provided Suzanne with two sets of information, both from NZ...

    Village news on the net :write to editor@VillagePress.co.nz  
 http://www.villagepress.co.nz/issues/scams/tourist1.htm

RE:" Warning to Tourist accommodation providers"  Accommodation providers receive numerous emails and need to be on the alert.  A warning from a government Tourist agency has passed on a series of email exchanges that may be a scam. Russell Conder advised: www.accommodationinnewzealand.co.nz

The email Suzanne first received read...

    Original Message From: robert wayne <sail2robert@yahoo.co.uk
Sent: Saturday, November 19, 2005 9:43 PM

Good day Sir/Madam,
I am Robert Wayne of west travel agency, london
(stet) .I need to book reservation in your inn for an organisation from London coming for a convention on the 30th December 2005 to 10th of Jan 2006.Get back to me if the dates mentioned above are free, so that we can book reservations immediately, with my credit card.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Thanks for your co-operation
Regards,
Robert Wayne
Westtravel Agency,(a member of ABTA)
Beacon Street,Birkby, Huddersfield,West Yorkshire,HD2 2RS,London.
TeL:+447875848617  Fax:+447884514786
Email:sail2robert@yahoo.co.uk

A later email shows how the scam works.  Unsuspecting Tourist operators are advised to send moneys to another theoretical car hire firm.....

    Sent: Monday, December 05, 2005 3:22 PM

Subject: PAYMENT INFORMATION
Hello Sanders,
(stet)
Thanks for your reply and assistance so far. I am glad to tell you that we have concluded payment with the delegates.

However we are going to send you the visa Account Information that will cover the cost of our accomodation,(stet) and the necessary arrangment (stet) for the delegates.

Moreover, we also made an arrangement with a pre paid car hiring firm who will supply the delegates with cars they will use during their stay, but because of security reasons and confidentiality, we have decided that only one person will have to handle the Visa account information. So once you are in receipt of it, you are required to charge the cost of your services $2094.4 (50%) and send $2100  via Western union money Transfer, to the car hiring agent whose information will be forwarded to you once this is confirmed.

So confirm this and provide me with your
(1) YOUR FULL NAME
(2) ADDRESS
(3) PHONE NUMBERS for office records.

Please remember that the integrity of our agency is involved, so this business requires prompt response. I also hope the stay of the delegates will be made comfortable.

Kind Regards,
Robert Wayne.

 

Of course, these names will be unrelated to the real people behind the Scam emails.

If you have a similar experience, do please write and tell us.
 

Original story: Tourist accommodation providers beware VillagePRESS

other scams
 
VillagePRESS

 Similar scam in New York
VillagePRESS

and in Canada
VillagePRESS

Other scam experiences for tourism operators  MAIN MENU