MAIN MENU

  Village news on the net                  Write to

FREE-ADS
advertise free

Brought to you by
Village Independent Publishers
with financial support from local businesses
PAGE NOT OPENING? VillagePRESS CLICK FOR
ADVERTISER
 
  Where to stay and be cared for -world wide Weather forecast VillagePRESS
health and environment
SHAPENZ
.
SOCIAL
lighter things
VISIT
Rainbow Valley Farm
LIST OF NZ MPs  VillagePRESS
Furniture
Maker
Country phone codes
Baby Store World
Times
Beauty
 Specialist
Currency converter
DICK SMITH
OREWA and

WARKWORTH
"VILLAGE" GROUPS
SHUTTLEBUS Healthy Living
Lifestyle
Surveyors Planners Land Development Consultants REPAIRS  Video  Microwave TV
PUHOI
KENNELS
Rental cars
Garage asset protection
Bio-degradable
paints and oils
HORSE HIRE
Holiday Camps FARMSTAY
WATER PUMPS TV AERIALS
Join  Writers group Garden Revival
FOR YOUR  ADVERT NZ general
info
To
contact us
COFCAL Developments for a Better World Ltd  
   
Philosophy and ethics - who can write and who is responsible  
   
Existential press - what does this mean??  

LATEST UPDATE: Sept 4, 2006                                     
And still the Tourist accommodation scams come

Tourist accommodation providers are being inundated with emails appearing to come from people wanting accommodation. See one of a number received in the July alone to one Farmstay Host.  Despite appearing to come from a business, the return address is @yahoo.com -- which would not apply in legitimate dealings unless it was a private, single request.

[You can check the return address by starting to <Reply>, click on the reply address, right click and open <Properties>.  You will see the true address. DELETE YOUR REPLY MESSAGE] 

Legitimate Tourist website hosts are having their direct booking sites used (invaded) as well to send various messages.

Anyone checking the return addresses should note the return address -- a popular scam users site looks fine until the final section which, if ending " .ru " (Russia?) is highly suspect.  (See second scam below)

A scam using an apparent NZ address parnassus@xtra.co.nz but return address is another at yahoo, ken_travellingagency@yahoo.com  comes from a "Ken Jasper" and reads:

 
----- Original Message -----
Sent: Tuesday, August 29, 2006 4:42 PM
Subject: BOOKING NEEDED

Dear Friend,
I need to make reservations for three(3)delegates of an organisation who will be coming to your country for a holiday.They are going to lodge in your Hotel during their stay.
The rooms will be needed from 24th to 30th October, 2006 and I will like you to provide accomodation for them for these period of time.
About1 double room and 1 single room will be needed.Please send me your rates for 2
double rooms for six nights between the period of 24th TO 30TH October,2006 so that other logistics will be considerd immediately.
2 DBL Rooms
X
YOUR RATE
six nights
Best Regards
Mr Ken.
+447024025291.

And another, using a similar free email address site (gowab.com) claims to be "Rev Stephen Damian", posing as a Minister in the Methodist Church...

  Attention Please,
I am Rev,Stephen Damian and the general manager of METHODIST
TRAVELS AGENCY
Private Park Hospital,Durton Lane,Broughton,Preston PR5 7LD,UK.I
need to make reservation for four (4) of our client  from Ireland.

Date of Arrival:14th Sept,2006

Departure Date:4th Oct,2006

Number Of Apartment: 4 Rooms

Period of Stay:21 Nights.

I would like you to bill out the TOTAL COST + TAXES if the dates mentioned above are available,so that our agency can confirm a 50% deposit booking immediately with CREDIT CARD.In case you are fully booked,we would suggest you furnish us with some other accommodation directory.
Your prompt response will be needed.
Regards,
Rev,Stephen Damian{+448700111740}
Manager,
 

and previously...

  Email:    info_my_reservation01@yahoo.com
Name:     Michael Davidson
Subject:  +447024073586
Subject1: London, England

Message:

Dear Sir/Madam,
 
My name is Mr.Michael Davidson, Director Pedro Consults London UK, We have delegates that are
interested in booking your Hotel for a Summit, We want to know if the single rooms or suites are available for booking, They are 5 in numbers and they want your single rooms or suites, They will last for 7 days, Mail us back with the final  prices of your rooms so that we can get back to the organization for
consideration and payment but will be with a Credit Card, Check-In will be starting from 20th August ,
Check-Out 27th August 2006. Hope to hear from you soonest with the total cost for the whole stay with
breakfast and dinner.
 
Waiting to read back from you asap.
 
Best Regards
 
Mr.Michael Davidson.

NB: Pls if my requested date are fully booked,Do get back to me with available dates within the month of
August-September in 5 rooms for 7 Nights for 5 delegates.

..and from "russia" (address shows if you open <Reply>...

 
From: "MARVEL TRAVEL AGENCY" <marveltravel01@mail.ru>
Sent: Saturday, July 15, 2006 10:08 PM
Subject: RESERVATION ENQUIRY

Hello,
     My clients are group of AIESEC MEMBERS coming for a summit in your province i will like to know the cost of your accomodation stay for 9 people for 8 days
starting from 10th of october to 19th of october,or give me rates for
your single and double room appartment so we plan towards that and return
with payments ,Hope you accept credit card payments.
Hope to hear from you soonest.
Kind Regards
Agrippa.

Anyone with dealings similar to this is asked to email
 

Original story: Tourist accommodation providers beware VillagePRESS

other scams
 
VillagePRESS

 Similar scam in New York
VillagePRESS

and in Canada
VillagePRESS

MAIN MENU